Posted by: Anu | November 28, 2012

Munnaring Tourist….


I had heard so much about the god’s own country that a rushed, exhausting, crammed-in-a-tourist-bus type of trip could not do justice to the description.

So after the first day of site seeing through Munnar that was in fact spent in a traveler bus, I decided to do a bunk! Our tour guide was nearly as strict as a headmaster of school for juvenile criminals! So years after my schooling got over, I got a chance to experience the thrill of bunking!

Now I had all the time and freedom to do anything I wished! So I walked through unknown roads of those unknown places… watched people… real, walking, working people who lived behind the face of a tourist destination…

I zoomed around in local auto-rickshaws, felt like a mute and deaf trying to understand mallyalam!! And I watched their buildings…. It was a painful struggle to bind a natural and rugged architecture into western definition of modernism… and hopelessly failing at it.

They build glass facades because city people like it that way… and city people pay for the tourism industry…. Through the infection like crowd of faceless steel and glass boxes of luxury hotels there would be a little shack put together in rough stone, hidden behind clump of trees…. Like a tribal child peeping curiously!

One must cross a couple of hills to leave the market and tourist area behind. There I walked through simple cobbled streets of a local settlement flaunting wonderful, graceful, old stone-wooden houses. These houses definitely outlived those who doubt durability of wood and stood there mocking the fragility of glass boxed hotels!

I watched little songbirds soaring through the valley and imagined their songs were about the elite forest that once existed where rolling hills bear a disciplined monotony of tea gardens. Ecology has overpowered my aesthetic judgment a long ago. Mono-plantation of a tea estate does not appear beautiful when my mind is trying to grope the beauty of an ancient forest that was…

Though many bollywood heroes have pranced through these gardens…. I believe the tea gardens are supposed to be beautiful to most eyes….

While leaving Munnar, I concluded that I was unfit to enjoy famous hill stations…. Though the soft fog wrapped memories of the lofty Western Ghats will stay with me forever… for the elegantly mysterious forests of Anaimudi ranges…

PS: Forgive the lack of pictures, my faithful camera is in need of battery repair.

Next Post will be about Divine Abode of Ambadi in Thekkady…

Responses

  1. I like the way you write….Expressive


Leave a Reply

Categories

