Posted by: Anu | December 30, 2009

Sailors Of Light…


Dear readers,

This is my tottering effort at putting words together in rhyme…! please bear with me!

I dump my wrecked ship to join you on another adventure….
But you are on your own voyage…n you leave me ashore.
I watch the puffed chests of proud vast sails…
Ready to take in the winds… ready to fly! Not sail!
I watch your glittering mast…and flutter of thy flag…
I feel the eager breath of that salty venture brag…
I am deathly silent…
That is all you lament…
You expect a warm goodbye…
And like a statue, I just stand by….
I wish so much to stretch into a smile…
But I can see, my ship’s a wooden pile…..
I rode the thunders…I sailed into darkest of nights….
I may have done blunders…But I fought my best fights…
Your brave pat on my back, I remember…
As I sailed home, through the thunder…
I felt the dark night was a sun-filled day…
Your smile spread around me that way!
To hell with the ship, that wrecked in the winds!
Nothing can stop our enlivened minds…
I knew my wind rider is by my side…
Why to lament loss of a petty ride?!
If I held thy hand, I would fly to the moon!
Who cares for the seas and bounded lagoons?!
But you packed alone…adventure on your face…
The zest of your smile! I couldn’t have grimaced…
“When will’ya be back”, I ask..
My voice quivered as I shuffled my gasp…
I know my brave smile gave away the secret…
I only hope you knew, I felt no regret…
You touched my face, ever so light…
For moment elated, my heart took flight…
“wont take long, my dearest girl…
I will be gone and back in a swirl…
Never you lament… stop that tear…
My precious one, you live right here..
And with those words you gestured your heart…
But you punctured mine, with the words of dart….
Your love was agony… and I asked for it…
You wanted some smiles… just that I did…
With a tiny smile, I bid a goodbye…
Watched that sail, vanish on the sky…
Awaiting your ship I am standing right here…
Squinting to the blue, demanding it to clear…
Looking for an evidence of a rising mast…
Glittering in the sun, approaching me fast…
For below the mast…will be your liner…
And riding the liner will be my loner…
O wind rider, why to be a loner….
When I wait here, around the corner?!
You n me can build a new vessel…
Studded with stars and tied with tinsel…
Sails of will can never tear off…
Mast of vision can never wither off..
I will lay my body, at the keel of our ship…
If you look up and know how much I worship…
This mighty ship will sail through the thunders..
And it can survive as nothing but a wonder…
No doubt, we can reach our horizon….
On demand, we can fly to the moon…
Thinking of this, I stood right there…
Squinting to the blue, demanding it to clear…
Looking for the evidence of a rising mast…
Glittering in the sun, approaching me fast…
For below the mast…was your liner…
And riding the liner was my only lover…
I chirped in joy… and danced with frolic,
Just when you reached…I jumped on the deck!
There was the smile worth a thousand sun shine…
That was my man… back from the marine!
He never sailed beyond several knot…
He wanted me…so he right came back…!
Back on the sea…on the play of tide…
Here we come….Gales moved aside…
Sailing through the oceans…
Riding the torrents….
We sailed into sunrise…
Into light we vanish…

Image Source

Responses

  1. hmm.. good one. actually i hardly write a poem in English and I wonder when people can write so. Somehow for me, English is a ‘prose’ language … I know I am totally wrong here … good poem indeed.

    • simply great!!! beautiful…..

  2. Good one… no,not just good… this is hmmm, ya! very touching…
    this is not just an effort, putting words together in rhyme… These words should be from ur heart…

  3. What a beautiful and lovely poem!
    *bows*

  4. That is very touching.. And the thing which i liked is your poem has changing pace in every stanza…

  5. Thank you Aativas, and I dont think any language is ever meant for only prose. It always has its own music. We just need to tune-in to it!

    Danny, what you say is true, words are only a medium. they make real sense only when they express what comes from heart. I hope here, in this post, my words made some sense!

    Amruta, I am glad you liked it. And what is changing pace by the way? Is it good or bad?! Your appreciation too is quite poetic! (And frankly,I cannot expect better!)

    And thank you Shantanu and Shree. I am glad you enjoyed reading me as much as i enjoyed writing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

