Posted by: Anu | December 23, 2009

Imprints of places…


Every place….every city and every village has its own distinct weave…. And she displays a unique side of her self to every traveler, who treads the soils her paths…

Every city and village I believe is like a bollywood actress who changes her attire five times in a single song!

Delhi....

Delhi, the heart of India…. Her all faces are enticing gestures of a flirty north Indian maiden! Twisting bazaar lanes of old Delhi those are ornate with all sorts of merchandise to lure women of all age!! Wide plush landscaped roads of capital city, New Delhi….

Rashtrapati Bhavan….with its wide gardens…Sight if India gate through morning mist… and her beating vein of metro-lines…

Delhi is inspiration of so many literary pieces, verses and movies….but for me…Delhi dwells in Karol bagh lanes…clad in vibrant colours, twisting and wandering through lanes…glittering with jhumkas and everything! Her rhythmic steps flaunting jutti!!

Amritsar....

Amritsar…is holy land of the Sikhs, the place where the Sikh epic of faith and perseverance starts. Each moment in the golden temple is mystic for every one who enters it, whether a religious soul or atheist…. Golden temple embraces all in its golden glow…. Forever on chanting of bhajans and devotional songs….saints and gurus wearing white… devotees, old and young, newly wed couple …everyone comes there to bow their heads in front of revered Guru…

Through all the glimpses of Amritsar, one that drifts first to my eyes is that of one old grandpa….who was doing service in the temple. His simple welcoming smile and childlike innocence so mismatched to his robust appearance!

Mumbai...

He stood in the premise of temple, giving out “prasaad” in disposable bowls pinned together from leaves…. Chanting name of god he smiled at everyone, as if he could see god in each person passing by…. His smiling face is all the essence of Amritsar for me…..

Mumbai… One cannot think of Mumbai without its spiky skyline….without bustling markets and buildings of British elegance in south Mumbai… without her new jewel of the sea-link… Whether in British times or in present days…Mumbai still wins the crown of marvel in man’s engineering skills! She holds half the wealth and charisma of this nation on her tiny sea-fronted land…..

Goa….it unavoidably brings scenes of beaches lines with palms…and the temple of Goddess Mangeshi…. I can still smell sweet smell wafting from amboli, a kind of pancake prepared with fermented rice flour and coconut milk, when I think of Goa….

Chennai...

Chennai….had won me over in the first look of the railway station, I must accept! But when I think of Chennai, first glimpse that flashes to my eye is that of a curt madrasi uncle in traditional white wrap standing next to his plush car, with an air of elite unconcern about the world!

The warm smell of filter coffee on Chennai station….. “quaaapi” as the most southies pronounce it!! That small quiver tone on “quaaa” is matchless! Just to hear that coffee call again, I wish to go back to Chennai!!!

Mahabalipuram reminds me of lazy foggy morning around the Shore temple….. The streets overflowing with stone sculptures….. It is indeed a place to worship god through stone! All forms that god may have taken to bless his devotees; these artisans have tried to worship them all through their chisels!

Madurai has a special place in my heart…. A treasure kept safe in my memory is the city of madurai. It is special for me to write about her….like revealing this most treasured glittering diamond.

A fresh clear morning…. I woke up with heavy bells ringing in distance…. And the first sight to my eyes was the aerial view of the meenakshi temple lit up for morning rituals….. Bells could be heard clearly through the winter cold air…..I did not know if I was awake in reality or I had dropped into another dream…..

Madurai....

Elegant gopuram lit up early in the morning….still glows in my vision, even today….

The fantasy day that started with the goddess calling out to wake me up preceded the same texture of madurai! Those few minutes in garbhagriha of the temple….the Goddess glowing in sacred chamber… clad in ornaments and flower arrangements….she smiled. Her prowess to mesmerise my mortal eyes……cannot be compared to any other attraction!

When I think of madurai….I remember the sharp glittering diamond nose-pin of that goddess….

Its brilliant reflectance had caught me off my guard…..and since then I am still musing about the mesmerising smile of the Princess of Madurai, Goddess Meenakshi….

All these places will have different images in everyone’s mind. I am sharing with you the images that I carry in my heart…. And I am eager to know what imprints you carry with you….may be of these places or some other places as well….

I have not travelled far and wide….it is only few places…few imprints that I have shared here. That only reminds me that there is so much to see…so much to reach out to…

Don’t you too feel that?!

Responses

  1. oh, very well compiled..
    and gr8 to see someone writing the goodness of our country..

    am sick of seeing so many ppl pointing out only the faults in our wonderful land…

    hope u do not mind, but in few places I thought u could avoided grammatical errors..
    and it would have been gr8 to present the cities in different text colors to differentiate from the other.. even a side heading would serve the purpose..
    nothing to take away from ur effort.. just that presenting better attracts more ppl…

  2. Thank you Sundeep for your comment.
    I will try to make the drafts grammatically correct in future. And yes presenting better part too!!
    About the content… i am glad you liked it… but i had no intention of justifying the glory of my homeland!! there are good things and bad things alike in every nation, in every culture….
    We must appreciate the good and prune the bad out…. that is my stand about it.
    And I hope you would like my writing even in future…

    Thanks Shree, for the link t your blog. It is very interesting to read life-dreams.

    Anothersunshinewriter, you are always welcome in Indian subcontinent. And I am sure that anyone who steps on this holy land will find great treasures of happiness. for Indians, guests are another form of almighty God.

  3. […] I was reading the Imprints of places , It took me to a place which I had forgetten long in living my daily life. But all it took was […]

  4. I love this post! I want to visit India sooooo badly, and Bangladesh and all over that area. I’ve been wanting to see Amritsar for a very long time because of it’s beauty and spirit. Oh, and Bollywood! My favorite movies in the world… India really is a magnificent country..


Leave a Reply

Categories

